Romanian Traditional Motifs – Another flower pot project

Posted on September 30, 2011

1



Interested in making a flowerpot for a yellow rose, I started with the usual research phase. I have always been interested in symbolism and meaningful associations, so my work always has a message. This time, also influenced by the predestined future owner’s tastes, I was inspired by Romanian traditions.

 

For the impatient, here is a peak at the final piece.

 

 

Romanian traditional crafts come from way back in time. Looking at some traditional weaved carpets, I found the perfect story.

 

Here comes a piece of history: Way before the Roman Empire had formed, in Romania there was this ancient people called Dacians. They were peaceful pagans, worshipping a multitude of Gods, amongst them a powerful and important one being the God of Sun. On one of the ancient carpets I came across was addressing this. Here is the source of my inspiration (unfortunately only in Romanian): The Symbolism & Messages of a Romanian Traditional Carpet.

 

In the middle there are the people that are worshipping the Sun – situated in the outside frame. In-between the stylized people there are depicted symbolic plants. If this message is not perfect for a flowerpot, then I don’t know what is! 🙂

 

First, I started with drawing the design – symmetry is key.

 

And here is a bit of the messy process – using pencils hasn’t changed for me since I was a kid.

 

Then, I started gluing up the mosaic previously cut pieces in the desired shapes and respecting the alternance of colors I thought of.

 

And here is the final piece with a bit of extra modern symbolism that I felt was appropriate: the top and bottom depict the sun, but also the white is representative of water and the black of the earth. They are all moving in a circle – the modern appreciation of the interconnections between all elements that sustain life.

 

Why did I choose white for water and not blue? Yes, another strong color would have spoiled the balance of colors on this flowerpot, but also because white is considered by artists as a non-color. Since water is see-through and white has no color, I found it as most appropriate.

 

Interesting fact: Artists see white as lack of color. Scientists see white as containing all colors. 🙂

Posted in: English