Drawing Skills

Posted on March 23, 2011

0



February passed but it left a lasting impression… Carnivals, Saint Valentine Day…

Amongst my old failed crafts projects I found a clay mask. I had started painting it with different symbols, failing miserably… Unfortunately, I am quite bad at drawing…

So, I thought: why not embellish it with mosaic? This is how it started… A spark, followed by a  lot of research, and a bit of imagination… and I was on my way…

I tried to keep it simple and elegant… Many times the problem I have with masks found in commerce is the abundance of materials and patterns…

Please note that this is just a home deco mask, due to its size (smaller than a grown-ups face) and material (clay is heavy and makes the necessary breathing “exercise” hard).

 

And here is another project inspired by February – lover’s month – that involves drawing skills.

As I said, drawing skills would help tremendously in coming up with new models. Since I don’t have them, you can only draw the correct conclusion that this project was inspired by someone else’s vision…

Since you know I love innovating for each project I take on, so you can realize how much I liked it as to actually put it into practice… And it did offer a bit of challenge, having to change a bit the proportions and lines that were followed to better emphasize the figure…

I personally think that the black/blue combination between mosaics and grout is amazing… Since I discovered it some time ago I haven’t once gotten tired of it…

This painting is the proof of how much a good design and vision bring to a mosaic project!

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: English