The Kitchen Table Project

Posted on October 22, 2011

4



By now, you know it: I looove redecorating and saving and pretyfying and reparing and… so on!

 

The old kitchen table – a disaster! So, what can we do about it? Yes! Mosaic is the answer to this problem too! To be honest, I wanted to keep this kitchen table as it had been created by my grandfather! He was a very, very talented man (I can say that only by looking at what he left behind)…

 

So, the work surface needed to be prepped. Took out the aluminium edges and sanded all the surfaces down to create more adhesion.

 

 

With the work surface washed and dried, with the kitchen clock I made some time ago (find the article here) as inspiration, a tile nipper, some special tile adhesive, and some glass mosaic tiles in the desired color scheme, I was ready to roll.

 

 

And roll I did…

 

 

And some more…

 

 

And some more…

 

 

Until it was done…

 

 

I opted, instead of the aluminium edge, for a wood trim and glued and nailed in place. Everything was left to “rest” (just as for all fine foods) for a day.

 

 

The next part of the process was to grout everything in place…

 

 

And, after the required 30 minutes or so (depends on the humidity and temperature in the room, as well as manufacturer recipe and own mixing skills), the surface was cleaned of all the excess grout and ready for the final drying part of the process. After all of that was done and the inspecting eye thrown on it, all little imperfections had been straigtened out and the different parts of the kitchen table had to be repainted. I chose black as I wanted to give it an imponderability effect. Plus, black slims and narrows… I guess anyone interested in beauty (well, fashion) knows it… 🙂

 

 

With all the part finished and dried, we are very close to the end…

 

 

When I saw it like this it made me instantly think of a piano, rather than a kitchen table… I was a bit worried of the darkness of the black, but it did work towards minimizing it’s presence and making the surface float in the room…

 

 

And, as the final necessary touch, seen how it would be a functional table – lots of cleaning and handling of food juices and such – a final coat of lacquer was added. It brought to life the black grout I used and turned out to be much more sanitary in the long run!

 

Posted in: English